Trine Men Cross Country Wins Midwest Intercollegiate
By: Jeffrey Hoedt - Monday, September 28, 2020

All seven of the best marks were in the top-20, with three top-10 marks, as the Trine University men's cross country team won the Midwest Intercollegiate hosted by Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) University in Bourbonnais, Ill.

Trine ended the afternoon with a team score of 33 points to take top honors out of 13 teams. Host school Olivet Nazarene took second with 40 points and the University of St. Francis-Joliet (Ill.) was third with 92 points.

Senior Jack Beakas captured his first event of the season as the individual champion with a top overall time of 15:29.90 out of 131 total runners for the 5K course. Fellow seniors Neil O'Brien and Derek Miller joined Beakas in the top-10 in third and sixth place. O'Brien ran a time of 15:48.30 to take third and Miller had a mark of 16:06.10 to place sixth.

Senior Levi Neuzerling was the next Thunder runner to cross the finish line at a time of 16:19.90 which was good enough for 11th place. Senior Noah Acker was two spots back of Neuzerling in 13th place after running a time of 16:26.40.

Junior Quinten Prieur and senior Harrison Korkos rounded out the top marks for the team of 16:37.80 and 16:45.00, respectively. Prieur's time was the 15th fastest overall and Korkos finished in 19th place.

"The men's team got a great opportunity to break from the normal and run a 5k instead of an 8k," said Head Coach Zach Raber. "The team ran very well. Jack Beakas took control at the mile and never looked back. The rest of the varsity team all finished in the top-20 to seal the win."

Trine returns to action on Saturday, Oct. 3 as part of a four-team competition along with Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association opponents: Calvin (MI) College, Adrian (MI) College and Olivet (MI) College in Grand Rapids, MI. The event is set to begin at 11 a.m.

FOR MORE INFORMATION, please contact Trine University Sports Information Director Jeff Hoedt by phone at (260) 665-4122 or by email at hoedtj@trine.edu.